365 days to go and a look at our June trip

Today is the official first day of training and also marks the 1 year countdown to departure, so 365 days to go!

I know that today is my official first day of training, more of a milestone though. I have been getting out quite a bit when I can but yesterday I decided to start the before and after work, so that I would have a full first week of training. Yesterday evening I got out for a ride with Julie and we did the canal / rapids tour which was a nice 26km. That rounded out my day to 57km. This morning despite the rainy weather I went out for 35km and got co ride and chat with an old friend I haven seen in a long time. That made the ride that much less brutal, what with the headwinds and crazy rain!

Now I promised this a few days ago so here is a bit about a trip Julie and I are taking on the first week of June. I was lucky enough to do this trip many years ago and I wanted to share this experience with Julie, so for our next week off we are doing a tour through the Laurentians on “Le Petit Train du Nord”. This is a beautiful route that follows an old historic train bed in the area. On the map below you can see point “B” is Mont Laurier, about 260km from Montreal, so this should take 2 days if the weather is favorable, though with the hilly terrain and if the weather is uncooperative it will take 3 days. From there we cut west to Maniwaki then head south into the Gatineau valley region. The next day we will complete the descent through the valley and in to Ottawa. Currently the plan is to stay in Ottawa for a couple of days with family, and spend 2 days touring on the beautiful network of trails on the Ottawa region. I lived there many years ago and a big regret is I only started discovering the trails before leaving for Montreal. For the return portion we will be exploring a route that I have never tried before that connects from Ottawa to Rigaud on the “Prescott-Russell Recreation Trail”, then from Rigaud through to Vaudreuil-Dorion then to the beautiful ride from Pincourt through the West island and back home. The return will take about 1 1/2 days.

It is my hope on this trip that we will be able to stealth camp along the way for the most part, with the exception of a camp ground in Mont Laurier with shower facilities. Also in Ottawa we will likely camp out indoors with family 🙂

The map above registers on Google Maps at about 660km, but I am hopeful that with the touring in Ottawa and any extra touring we may do during the trip that this will add 800km to our tally. I would also love to see the summer tally hit the 2000km during this trip.

As I sit here with some very tired legs I am going to need to get motivated for tonight’s ride! I just need to keep focused and not leave myself the option of not going.

Stay tuned for a blog coming soon about my bike and what equipment I carry daily for my rides. At a later date I will post what we carry on a trip with some pics. I will also post a few pics from previous trips.

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

