Big gap in posts, motivation and training

So if you were following my blog no doubt you have noticed a big gap in my posts. The same is true for my training and recent motivation.
But as they say the show must go on. As of today there are 282 days until departure. This means a more intense training to make up for some lost time but I am sure that in that time both Julie and I will be ready for our adventure.

I promise to blog about our trip and post photos in the coming weeks, as time allows. The kink in our plan came from our bike trip in early June. First of all being scared half to death on some really dangerous strips of highway with no paved shoulder and transports passing close enough that we could touch them with our elbows, then battling with dirt bike paths that caused us to slip and slide under the weight of our bikes. All in all the trip was a great experience and a learning one for sure. This will allow us to make some serious refinements to our trip plan for next year.

The big negative came from Julie’s dislocating her knee-cap. The final day of our trip she was in excruciating pain and could barely complete the ride to Rigaud, where we elected to take the train back. 6 weeks of physio ensued, and for the first 3 she could barely walk. For that time the whole trip, the whole idea became a huge question mark. Even if we wanted to do it, this injury would certainly cancel those plans.

Saturday we got a little ride in to the fireworks then Sunday we got a nice 20km in, the first “real” ride together since the injury. The physiotherapist says that she should be fine for the trip next year, with, of course, some training, strength conditioning of her knee, and lots of hard work until then.

As for me I have remained in a holding pattern just over the 2000km mark for the season. 5000 is now unrealistic since we will not be able to do long day trips together for the time being. There are talks of a shorter trip in September, but that depends on many factors and seems unrealistic at this point.

For this week I am setting myself a goal of 200km to get back into gear and training again. This will mean getting more sleep, going to bed early so that I am able to bike before work. I may have to fight some hot mornings and even hotter evenings to get some distance under me. It will not be easy but I am getting back on track and will set a good attainable goal for August. We should still have at least 3 good months to cycle outdoors, and at that time will transition to the gym for more endurance and strength training.

As I have time I am going to get back to adding some content to my blog. I want to share our trip in its entirety, but I need to transcribe my scribbles and get the photos.

Until next time (and hopefully less than 2 months!!) bike safe, and show some love to your fellow cyclists!

One thought on “Big gap in posts, motivation and training

  1. Cathy says:

    Nice to read the updates Wesley, glad to hear Julie’s knee is healing 😉

Leave a Reply

